Minecraft Game Modes Facts and Guide


Although Minecraft is best known for its sandbox survival gameplay, there are actually multiple ways to experience Mojang’s ever-popular crafting game. It’s a huge boon to the game, which has become more and more versatile over the years, attracting a large audience of gamers.

RELATED: Minecraft: How to Farm Iron

Whether fans love to create, survive, build, explore, or play through community-created adventure maps, there’s a perfect game mode for everyone. For those still unsure what each of these game modes does, this guide will go over everything a gamer needs to know about from Minecraft game modes.


How many game modes are there in Minecraft?

Minecraft has a total of four accessible game modes: Survival Mode, Creative Mode, Adventure Mode, and Spectator Mode. Each game mode comes with unique rules and limitations and defines how the player will be able to interact with the world around them.

In the Create a new world tab in the Minecraft launcher, however, players will only be able to access survival mode, creative mode, and hardcore mode. For the sake of simplicity, this guide will treat hardcore mode as a modded version of survival mode, not its own game mode.

RELATED: Minecraft: How To Get Bamboo (& What It’s For)

Adventure Mode and Spectator Mode can be accessed when the player has loaded a world. They must then type the command /gamemode in the chat and choose adventure or spectator to apply it. Spectator Mode also becomes available at the end of a Hardcore Mode run, if the player dies.

Survival Mode – The Bread and Butter of Minecraft

Most gamers are familiar with survival mode as it is considered the main game mode of Minecraft and the default way to experience the game. from Minecraft survival mode, players can take damage and die, their hunger bar runs out and they have to acquire resources by gathering them. Additionally, to gather these resources, players will need the right tools, and each block will take some time to harvest.

Survival mode comes in several different flavors or difficulties:

  • Peaceful – Hostile and neutral mobs will not spawn. In Bedrock Edition, there are a few exceptions to this rule.
  • Easy – Players take reduced damage.
  • Normal – Players take the default amount of damage.
  • Hard – Players take increased damage.
  • Hardcore – A separate game mode on the launcher where the player has only one life and cannot respawn.

The goal of survival mode is simply to survive and thrive. Players spawn with nothing at all and must craft tools, acquire materials, and build shelter. They can optionally choose to explore the world and defeat the Ender Dragon, which is considered the final boss of Minecraft. That said, the game has no official ending and can be played indefinitely.

Creative Mode – Infinite Resources

The creative way of Minecraft is easily as popular as its survival mode. In this mode, players do not spawn with a health bar or hunger bar. They can fly freely, and when opening their inventory, they have unrestricted access to almost every block and item in the game. This makes Creative Mode the ideal mode for building and experimenting.

In Creative Mode, there are a few key quality of life changes compared to Survival Mode. Players can go further when placing and breaking blocks, and they can also break any block in the world by hitting it once. Players also don’t need to have stacks upon stacks of a specific item in their inventory. A single copy of a cobblestone block will last them forever when laid.

Adventure Mode – Best for adventure maps

As Minecraft has grown over the years, as has the community around it, which has spawned a variety of adventure maps with complete stories that utilize the strengths of Minecraft. To support these adventure maps, adventure mode has been implemented in the game, which severely limits how the player can interact with the world.

RELATED: Minecraft: Updates The Caves Still Need

Players will not be able to break any block in this game mode so that adventure map boundaries can be respected and the map is not broken or chagrined. Some objects, like levers, buttons, and chests can still be interacted with, but not all blocks can be destroyed, even if the player has the correct tool in their hand.

Adventure mode is accessed via the /gamemode adventure command.

Spectator Mode – See the world seamlessly

If players just want to observe what’s happening in their world, Spectator Mode is the way to go. Players become invisible in this game mode and can fly freely, even walking through walls and floors. They can also observe other players using commands.

That said, the viewers are not divine beings. They have limited abilities when it comes to interacting with the world. They cannot interact with chests or inventories, and if players are in a single player world in spectator mode, they will not be able to open loot chests as the loot inside has not yet generated. When players die in a hardcore world, they can choose to watch their world before it is destroyed forever.

To access spectator mode, players can type the command /gamemode spectator in the chat.

Minecraft is available on PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X/S, Nintendo Switch, Android, iOS and many other devices.

MORE: Minecraft: Best Villager Professions


Comments are closed.